Being Sustainable can help not only the environment but your economy

Posted: August 3, 2012 by ujiies in Week 2: Reflections + Social Sustainability

Carry reusable cups

Last weekend, I went to Starbucks to buy my travel mug. There were a lot of kinds of cups at Starbucks. I chose a Cold Cup, 16 fl oz and a tumbler. They cost about $10 each. Honestly I thought they were kind of expensive, but I found out they were actually not only environmental but also economical. I used to buy a coffee at the coffee shop without bringing a coffee mug.

However after buying the coffee cups, I tried to make the coffee at my house as often as possible and bring it to class. Also, even if I bought a coffee at the coffee shop, I could get some discount when I brought my mug. Therefore, I was happy to save my money for coffee. According to the Starbucks website, Starbucks is committed to minimizing their environmental footprint as the company’s policy (Starbucks Official Website). Starbucks tries many activities for the environment through community and national level. I found an interesting project of Starbucks in New York, 2011. By bringing a reusable travel mug into the local Starbucks, people get a free brewed coffee. “One person can save trees, together we can save forests” (Starbucks Official Website). For better future, Starbucks is encouraging everyone to switch from paper cups to reusable travel mugs. Here is the video of the Project in 2011.

Recycling at Fred Meyer

During the week, I brought the empty cans and bins to Fred Meyer for recycling. I used to put them in the recycling bins at my apartment. It is still ok but since I live so close to Fred Meyer, I recycled them by myself for the first time. According to the article, “Recycling Initiatives & Options”, about 207 million cans and bottles were recycled at 50 Fred Meyer’s store in Oregon through year of 2006 (The Kroger Co, 2012). This is a great way to participate in the sustainability project as community level. I was able to recycle 12 small bins, 2 large bins, and 3 small cans and get some refund from them.

If people are not familiar with recycling/reusing, these are great ways to start being sustainable, because money is a big factor to motivate most people. If you can get a refund through recycling bins or reusing a mug, it will encourage you to continue (whether you consider the environment or not).

Sources

The Kroger Co. (2012). “Recycling Initiatives & Options”, Kroger. Retrieved from http://www.kroger.com/healthy_living/green_living/pages/recycling.aspx

Starbucks Store. (2012). Retrieved from
http://www.starbucksstore.com/

Comments
  1. […] Being Sustainable can help not only the environment but your economy […]

Leave a comment